Interesting, Photography

15 Peaceful Borders Between European Countries [Images]

StyleBaby Fun

Borders between nations are often a very tense place to be in especially if the countries in question are not on good terms with each other. However, things are pleasantly different in many European countries since the signing of the Schengen Agreement of 1985.

The agreement has  (up to an extent) erased the political boundaries between EU nations in the Schengen area (which consists of 26 countries). One does not require a passport or any special permission to travel to different countries within the Schengen area as there are no internal border control.

However, some countries including Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Norway and Sweden have reimposed some temporary controls on their borders with other Schengen states due to the EU migration crisis and recent terrorist attacks in Paris.

So check out these photos by Netherlands-based photographer Valerio Vincenzo (for his project entitled “Borderline, the Frontiers of Peace) depicting the “erased” borderlines between the Schengen area nations


Belgium – Netherlands

Belgium & Netherlands


France – Belgium

France & Belgium


France – Switzerland

France & Switzerland


Germany – Austria

Germany & Austria


Germany – Denmark

Germany & Denmark


Germany – Poland

Germany & Poland


Italy – Switzerland

Italy & Switzerland


Latvia – Estonia

Latvia & Estonia


Luxembourg – Belgium

Luxembourg & Belgium


Netherlands – Germany – Belgium

Netherlands Germany Belgium


Poland – Slovakia

Poland & Slovakia


Poland – Germany

Poland & Germany


Portugal – Spain

Portugal & Spain


Switzerland – Italy

Switzerland & Italy


Spain – France

Spain & France



StyleBaby Fun

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *